All Souls Day / Dia de los Muertos

“Eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs through it.  The river was cut by the world’s great flood and runs over rocks from the basement of time.  On some of the rocks are timeless raindrops.  Under the rocks are the words, and some of the words are theirs.  I am haunted by waters.” — Norman Maclean, A River Runs Through It.

On this All Souls Day / Dia de los Muertos, my heart has turned to all whom I see no more.  Because, “. . .some of the words are theirs.”  I feel the flow of the great river, where “Eventually, all things merge into one, . . . .”

The great river has long been a strong spiritual metaphor for me.  I feel part of that river and my raindrop merges with all the other raindrops as we flow over the rocks of time, stretching and twisting so far behind and ahead as to seem endless.  It is the great river of being and I am most deeply there.

I am part of the river; but, I am not lost within it.  I feel haunted.  But, only  in the positive sense that I feel presence of those I see no more.  Celebrating that presence is one of the special gifts of Dia de los Muertos.  Those I have known are most clearly part of me but we are not separate or other than all those we have never known.  We are, eventually, one with all things and all things are the river, the endless flow of raindrops upon rock.

Leave a Reply

