Learning to Dance

Our daughter, Beth, and Corey Collins were married yesterday.   It was a beautiful wedding and almost everything went as planned.  They are well launched upon their married life.  The part of the wedding that I invested the most effort in was the “Father and Bride” dance.

If you know me, you know that my family has, for years, described me as rhythm impaired, incapable of dancing.   I have never tried to dance much.  But, for Beth’s wedding I wanted to be able to dance well with her.  So, I found a dance instructor.  Beth went along with the idea.  We practiced for a month before the wedding. Beth was very patient, kind and forgiving.  So, was the instructor.

We choreographed a simple waltz to the music of Sunrise, Sunset from “Fiddler on the Roof.”   It went very well, and the Mother of the Bride and our two sons, as well as the other guests, were surprised and happy.  The original mission was accomplished.

Yet, there was even more.  There was an even better, unexpected blessing:  I got to hold my daughter in my arms and gaze into her smiling eyes for a whole month.  As we practiced, I got better and we really began to dance, not just count steps.   On her wedding day we really enjoyed our  dance together.  I got to hold her in my arms and glide across the floor.  She was beautiful and happy.   For a brief shining moment everything in the world was in its perfect place.  I will be forever grateful to God and Beth for that one moment.  It means more to me than I will ever be able to say.Wedding-Dance

4 responses to “Learning to Dance

  1. What a wonderful story. It was a blessing to watch too…those dances always make me cry. I told my Dad about your crying towel and he thought that was really great, too. He said he needed one for our dance, but you did a wonderful job and all your words and actions to Beth and Corey were so heart-felt and they are lucky to have you for a father:)

  2. That’s one of the most beautiful thoughts a dad can have about his daughter. I remember when my dad and I danced at my wedding… it’s a moment I’ll treasure forever.

    That’s love, pure and simple.

  3. Daddy,
    I enjoyed learning to dance with you. It meant alot to me that ‘our moment’ was so meaningful for you too.

    Love you,
    Boomer

  4. You both certainly surprised us…. You were blessed to have the time to learn that waltz, a dance you will always remember….Those of us watching, witnessed a miracle….filled with joy…..

Leave a Reply

